Saving and scheduling

Introduction

Count gives you the ability to save your query results and to choose how often you want those results refreshed. This allows you to save crucial results at a snapshot in time and helps reduce the load on your database.

Enabling saving and scheduling

By default the option to save results is turned on, but can be disabled in the workspace settings menu by workspace owners.
Disable result saving from the workspace settings page
If this toggle is activated (and query saving is disabled), you will not be able to save query results or schedule result refreshes. In this case, Count will still cache your data securely for 5 minutes, to enable the same results to be shared with multiple users editing the notebook at the same time.
When caching is enabled, the duration that the results are cached depends on whether the notebook is in draft mode or published mode. In draft mode, results will be securely cached for 24 hours (to further improve performance). In published mode, the cache duration depends the saving option selected at publish time (see Saving and scheduling options).

Saving and scheduling options

To save the query results of a notebook you must publish it. In the publishing menu you will see the following options in the Save query results dropdown:

Never

The query results for this notebook will be saved for 5 minutes, to enable the same results to be shared with multiple users editing the notebook at the same time.
Save current results
The query results for this notebook will be securely saved indefinitely. After publishing, the notebook must be edited to update any of its query results.
Save with scheduled updates
The query results for this notebook will be securely saved, and a daily, weekly, or monthly refresh schedule can be set for all query results in the notebook. Each refresh replaces all the existing query results.
For example, the following schedule is set to refresh the query results at 0600 GMT on the last day of every month.
On publishing, query results of previous versions of a notebook are not refreshed and are saved indefinitely, allowing you to refer to previous notebook states.

Saving query results and versioning

If a notebook is published with either Save current results or Save with scheduled updates, then every time a new version of that notebook is created, a record is kept of the results for older versions. In other words, all query results are uniquely linked to a notebook version. This allows you to browse through the version history of the notebook and view the results as snapshots taken at the time of publication.
Last modified 23d ago