How to make sure your work is never lost.
Every canvas can have multiple versions, which are snapshots of the document at a point in time. Versions cannot be edited or deleted, so are very useful in understanding the history of the document. You can create a version manually, and versions are also automatically created as you edit a notebook or canvas.
When you create a new notebook or canvas, it begins in unlocked mode. This is the only way to edit them.
Versions can be created 3 ways:
- Auto-saved versions: Count automatically saves versions of your canvas periodically
- When static caching is enabled, or a scheduled update occurs: When your data undergoes a refresh a version is saved, with a data snapshot.
- Manually-saved versions: At any point a canvas editor can create a version of the canvasHow to manually save a version
The version history of a notebook can be viewed if you are an editor or above of the parent project. You can find the version history from the canvas option menu:
The version history bar displays all versions of the canvas, and highlights the one you are currently viewing.
To view an old version, simply click any from this menu and you'll see the canvas as it was at a given point in time.
Unless a Data Snapshot is saved with a version, the data will not be saved with a version.
You can restore an old version by clicking on a version and selecting 'Restore':