Count docs
Search…
⌃K
Links

Sharing permissions

How to make sure the right eyes get on your work.

Introduction

The sharing menu provides lots of flexibility for how a canvas can be shared.
Depending on what workspace and project settings are active, there are three ways a canvas can be shared.
The canvas sharing menu

1. Sharing within the project

A canvas is automatically visible to every member of its parent project. Users can share canvases with other members in the project by sharing the canvas URL with them.
The share menu of a given canvas shows you the number of users who can view it based on their project permissions. If you are permitted to do so, you can invite other users to the project by clicking "Add people".

2. Sharing via email/username

Any user with access to a document can share it with others using their email address or name. If the invited users aren't members of the workspace they will become workspace guests (if workspace guests are allowed).
The invited users will receive a notification email linking them to the canvas directly. If the users are not members of the project they will find the canvas in the "Shared" menu in the workspace.
This option is available to project viewers or editors if the Allow sharing option is enabled in the project settings, otherwise it is only available to project admins.

Sharing with the whole workspace

Enabling this option allows any workspace member to view this document. This option does not allow workspace guests to see the it.
This option is only available to project viewers or editors if the Allow sharing option is enabled in the project settings, otherwise it is only available to project admins.

Sharing on the web

Enabling this option allows anyone to view the canvas, even if they are not signed in to Count.
This option is only available to project viewers or editors if the Allow sharing option is enabled in the project settings, otherwise it is only available to project admins.

Sharing and Locking

You can share a canvas whether it is locked or unlocked. The differences are as follows:
If you share an unlocked canvas:
  • Viewers can:
    • view a view-only version of the canvas
    • hide and un-hide frames
  • Admins and Editors can:
    • edit the canvas in real-time
    • interact with control cells
    • create versions
    • create reports
If you share a locked canvas:
  • Viewers can:
    • view a view-only version of the canvas
    • interact with control cells
  • Admins and editors can:
    • interact with control cells
    • unlock the canvas

Sharing a report

If you create a report, you can share the report only with someone. This means they will have access to the report but not the underlying canvas. This is ideal if you are dealing with external stakeholders or people you don't want to see the underlying workings of a report.