Sharing notebooks
How to make sure the right people are able to appreciate your work.

Introduction

The notebook sharing menu provides lots of flexibility for how a notebook can be shared.
Depending on what workspace and project settings are active, there are three ways a notebook can be shared.
The notebook sharing menu

Sharing and Publishing

You can share a notebook whether it is published or unpublished. The differences are as follows:
If you share an unpublished notebook:
  • Admins and Editors can:
    • edit the notebook in real-time
    • interact with control cells
    • Toggle view-code option on and off
    • fork and merge the notebook
  • Viewers can:
    • view a view-only version of the notebook
    • interact with control cells
If you share a published notebook:
  • Admins and editors can:
    • interact with control cells
    • toggle to view code
    • unpublish or fork the notebook
  • Viewers can:
    • view a view-only version of the notebook
    • interact with control cells

Sharing within the project

A notebook is automatically visible to every member of its parent project. Users can share notebooks with other members in the project by sharing the notebook URL with them.
The notebook share menu shows you the number of users who can view the notebook based on their project permissions. If you are permitted to do so, you can invite other users to the project by clicking "Add people".

Sharing via email/username

Any user with access to a notebook can share it with others using their email address or name. If the invited users aren't members of the workspace they will become workspace guests (if workspace guests are allowed).
The invited users will receive a notification email linking them to the notebook directly. If the users are not members of the project they will find the notebook in the "Shared" menu in the workspace.
This option is available to project viewers or editors if the Allow sharing option is enabled in the project settings, otherwise it is only available to project admins.

Sharing with the whole workspace

Enabling this option allows any workspace member to view this notebook. This option does not allow workspace guests to see the notebook.
This option is only available to project viewers or editors if the Allow sharing option is enabled in the project settings, otherwise it is only available to project admins.

Sharing on the web

Enabling this option allows anyone to view the notebook, even if they are not signed in to Count.
This option is only available if the Allow public links setting is enabled in the workspace settings.
This option is only available to project viewers or editors if the Allow sharing option is enabled in the project settings, otherwise it is only available to project admins.

Embedding notebooks

Published notebooks and cells can be embedded in other web pages. To access the Embed preview pane, click the 'Embed' button in the notebook sharing menu:
Check the appearance of embedded content from the Embed preview pane
To embed a notebook or cell, you can:
  • Use the iframe HTML code directly (for example, on your own website)
  • Paste a notebook or cell link into a platform that supports automatic rich unfurling (for example, a Discourse post)
  • Use the embeddable link (containing 'embed') in a platform that supports rich embeds (for example, a Notion embed block)
Embeds are
  • Fully interactive, like a published notebook (e.g., readers can interact with controls inside embeds)
  • Always in-sync with the notebook
  • Shared like a published notebook (e.g., an embed is only visible to everyone if the notebook is too)
  • Compatible with the oEmbed standard
Embeds do not
  • Allow CSV downloads
  • Support unpublished notebooks
  • Work with any Count URL other than a notebook or cell URL
Embeds can be disabled workspace-wide from the workspace settings. Only workspace owners can change this setting.
Public notebooks and embeds are only available on the Team plan.
Last modified 2mo ago