Projects organise your notebooks around a common dataset and provide a space where multiple users can collaborate together.
Every project has a parent database connection which defines the range of data that can be used within the project.
A list of notebooks.
A group of users who can access the project with different levels of permissions.
A list of tables (these can be all or a sub-set of the tables available from the parent database connection).
There are four steps to creating a new project:
Projects have a parent database connection from which the data they can access comes from. First choose the database connection you want to use for the project and click create a project from the data base connection's home page.
Give the project a distinct name and description. This could be based around the dataset which the project could contain e.g. "Product telemetry" or "Marketing data" or the type of reports it will contain e.g. "Quarterly performance reports".
You can invite users to your project and assign them a specific project role. Read more on managing project access below.
By default, a project contains all the tables available from its parent database connection, but this list can be filtered to a subset of tables to restrict table access to the project's members. Read more on managing a project's data below.
The project home page shows all the notebooks stored within the project.
To see available options for each notebook, right-click on the notebook, or click the notebook menu icon.
The 'Access' column describes the three main visibility states for a notebook:
Draft - this notebook is editable and is only visible to you.
Published - this notebook is not editable and is visible to all project members. It can only be changed by forking it to create a new draft copy which can be edited and re-merged back to the parent notebook.
Public - this is a published notebook which can be shared with anyone who has the notebook link, even if they are not members of the project or workspace.
You may pin any number of notebooks to a project by clicking the Pin to project option in the notebook option menu. When a notebook is pinned it always appears above the notebook list.
Un-pin a notebook by right-clicking on the pinned notebook and select 'Remove from pinned'. If a notebook is moved to another project, it will not automatically be pinned in that project.
Only project admins can change the data accessible by a project. The list of tables within the project can be seen and edited from the "Manage data" button in the main project home page.
By default, a project has access to all of the tables available from its parent database connection. In this case, Count does not perform any checks on the tables being queried from notebooks within that project.
If the table list is filtered to include only a subset of the tables, Count will prevent queries from executing if they attempt to access a table outside of the subset.
Count does not persist query data on its servers. This means that every time that a user opens a notebook, Count sends the notebook queries to your database again and returns the results directly to the user.
The list of project members can be accessed from the "Manage access" button in the main project home page.
User access and permissions can be changed by project admins or workspace owners. All other project members can just see the list.
There are two ways to share a project with users.
Giving workspace access
Inviting users via email
Project admins are able to set a workspace-wide permission to a project from the members list in the project. Whilst this permission is active the project will be accessible to every workspace Member and Admin (not Guests).
There are two options for workspace-wide access:
View access (everyone in the workspace becomes a Project Viewer)
Edit access (everyone in the workspace becomes a Project Editor)
Individual users (both Guests, Members and Admins) can still be specifically invited to the project. Their project role is determined by the highest role provided by their specific permission or the workspace-wide one.
Whether a new user can be invited to a project depends on the role of the user sending the invitation and what the project and workspace settings are.
Workspace admins and owners can invite users to a project as either Admins (if the user is a Workspace Admin), Editors or Viewers.
If the workspace doesn't allow Guests then they can only invite current workspace users to the project. If guests are allowed then they can invite any user to the project as a Viewer.
If the user being invited has an email approved by the workspace domain whitelist then this user can be invited as either an editor or a viewer and is automatically added as a workspace Member (they cannot be added as a guest).
Workspace members (who are both editors or viewers) and Guests can invite users to the project as Viewers, only if the Allow Sharing option is enabled in the project settings. These users could be new users or current members of the workspace. New users could become either guests or workspace members depending on the workspace domain whitelist settings.
More details on the different project roles can be found in the roles and permissions page.
The project settings can be accessed from the "Manage project" button in the main project home page.
From this menu you can:
Change the project name
Delete the project
Control notebook sharing (see below)
This settings determines whether users with editor or viewer permissions in a project can invite other users as viewers to the project or share individual notebooks with users outside the project.
By default this setting is on. If the setting is turned off, only Project Admins can invite users to the project and share notebooks to users outside of the project.
Project settings are only accessible to project admins.